Life Skills

Mrs. Cowing, Life Skills Teacher, Special Education Case Manager

Social Skills class is working on The Zones of Regulation.


The Red Zone is used to describe extremely heightened states of alertness and intense emotions.  A person may be elated or experiencing anger, rage, explosive behavior, devastation, or terror when in the Red Zone. 

The Yellow Zone is also used to describe a heightened state of alertness and elevated emotions, however one has more control when they are in the Yellow Zone.  A person may be experiencing stress, frustration, anxiety, excitement, silliness, the wiggles, or nervousness when in the Yellow Zone.

The Green Zone is used to describe a calm state of alertness. A person may be described as happy, focused, content, or ready to learn when in the Green Zone.  This is the zone where optimal learning occurs.

The Blue Zone is used to describe low states of alertness and down feelings such as when one feels sad, tired, sick, or bored.

What zone are you in?

For more information check out the website:


Math is working on adapting recipes.

  • Why might you use equivalent measurements to adjust a recipe?

4th Period English is working on two column notes when reading a textbook.

  • What are your work values?
  • How does knowing your work values help you make goals for your future work?

6th Period Family Consumer Science enjoyed cooking a spaghetti and meatball dinner with salad, garlic bread and ice cream for dessert.